Team A: Hundreds & hundreds of thousands of skilled warriors.
Team B: 32,000 farmers.

It’s game day. Fight to the death.
Team A or Team B?
Place your bets.
Who you got?

I got team A 10 of 10 times.
God? He’s got team B.

But only on one condition. You send some of them home.
Enter Judges 6.

Gideon and his ragtag army of 32,000 men are about to face the big and mean too large to count Midianite army and God claims Gideon has too many men.

Too many men to face an army too large to count?
Yes.

Trim. Trim. Trim.

Gideon is down to 10,000 men.

And now?

Nope. Still too many men.

Trim. Trim. Trim.

300

Can you believe it? God insisted on trimming down the army until Gideon was only left with 300 men. And no this isn’t 300 Spartans with shiny 6 packs. Just 300 normal people with a scared and doubting leader.

Against a big and mean army that’s too large to count? Yea, doesn’t take an army general to figure out those odds are NOT good but that’s the point.

That was exactly the point.

Don’t know if you know this or not but God sometimes LOVES to stack the odds against you.

Against me. Against us.
You know why?

Because he loves to use people who know they are really going to need him. And because he wants all the glory from the victory.

The Lord said to Gideon, “You have too many men. I cannot deliver Midian into their hands, or Israel would boast against me, ‘My own strength has saved me.’ -Judges 7:2

Bill Hybels calls those “Only God” moments. The moments where God does things in ways that make it so obvious to everyone that ONLY he could have done it.

It’s funny because when the odds are stacked against me, I feel like God is far. I feel like God isn’t fighting for me.
That or I feel like the enemy is taking me out.

But what if it’s the other way around?

You’re 27 and still single?
There are 100 applicants for the job you want?
Your company meets in a basement?
Everyone who has ever done what you’re trying has failed?
You’re too old…?
Too young…?
Feeling like you’re taking 1 step forward and 3 backwards?

Could be bad luck. Or the enemy.

But what if that’s God? What if it isn’t the enemy? What if you’re experiencing a “Gideon moment?

What if God is the one staking the odds against you SO he can do what only he can do?

Because he wants to do what he wants to do in a way that the only plausible conclusion is that GOD did this.

Thanks for reading! Feel free to comment with your thoughts!

**Guest post from my guy Sammy**